Well it happened again and frankly I am getting tired of it.
Another (new) client of mine who spent hard-earned money and invested a few hours of his Saturday morning attending a ‘back of the barroom coffee & donuts’ CCW class – and got bad info.
He learned things which are factually untrue and …
he is, like many others who have taken this ‘class’ is at legal risk of doing something wrong with no intention of wrongdoing. The seriousness of the decision to carry a weapon cannot be trivialized just because Arizona is a “Constitution Carry” state and should not be taken lightly or in a cavalier manner. There are serious and good reasons to get your CCW and to understand the laws.
For example, if this new client of mine gets pulled over in Nevada for a tail light bulb being faulty and is asked the question, “I see you are from Arizona, are you carrying a concealed firearm?” He is required to answer the question. He would likely happily and proudly answer, “Yes sir – I have my Utah CWP right here…” At which time he will be informed that he is in violation of Nevada law because Nevada does NOT honor the Utah CWP. He may then be in serious legal trouble – he will have committed a class C felony and admitted his guilt to the officer.
[quote align=”center” color=”#999999″] I am offering him, and anyone else who has taken the ‘class’ in question, a special discounted price of $69 for the Concealed Carry CWP class at Apex Arms [/quote]
He (and several other class graduates I have encountered) was told that by obtaining his Utah CWP that he could then travel in Nevada legally carrying concealed. This is simply wrong. Combining Arizona and Utah cards in your wallet will add the state of Washington – NOT Nevada. And cost you time and money getting the Utah CWP. Nevada changed this OVER TWO years ago – the instructor is woefully out of date with his curriculum.
This is especially troubling for several reasons, but the thing that irritates me the most is that people who seek information by taking a class and getting their CCW are generally the kind of people who are rarely in trouble – they are law abiding folks. And they should not be getting bad information from people they pay.
Those of us in the profession of teaching are under an obligation to teach the most accurate information possible. Many times, I have had to say, “I do not know, but I will find out and email it to you later.” It comes with the trade. In this case, the students are getting what they paid for – abbreviated and or incorrect info which could land them in serious trouble.
My fix for this situation is that I am offering him, and anyone else who has taken the ‘class’ in question, a special discounted price of $69 for the Concealed Carry CWP class at Apex Arms. We feel that you will learn things in our class that you have never learned before and several things you will re-learn. All you have to do is provide us a copy of your ‘certificate’ of achievement and if it is from the company of which I am referring, I will gladly discount your class fee.
At first I wanted to offer it for free, but then I realized, why should I give valuable and accurate information out which I painstakingly research to maintain the highest quality and up to date info to fix a problem caused by a cut-rate competitor who doesn’t even have a Lake Havasu City business license?
by Jim Liesen, Apex Arms
Real Classroom. Real Content. Real Rangetime. Real Results.
Certified Firearms Instructor and Range Safety Officer, NRA, USCCA Affiliate, NSSF, AZG&F Hunter Ed Instructor, AZ Firearms Instructor for Armed Security Guard, Utah Firearms Instructor and Front Sight Line Coach.
PS – This is just one example of a particular subject matter that is incorrect. There are other topics that are problematic, e.g. brandishing a weapon, third party justification, defense of property justifications, etc. More information about our Concealed Carry CWP class here.
Don’t believe me? Look it up – Utah is NOT on the list.
NV recognition of other state’s CCW list: http://gsd.nv.gov/Resources/Carry_Concealed_Weapon_(CCW)_Permit/
NV law NRS 202.350: (bolded for ease of reading)
“Manufacture, importation, possession or use of dangerous weapon or silencer; carrying concealed weapon without permit; penalties; issuance of permit to carry concealed weapon; exceptions.
1. Except as otherwise provided in this section and NRS 202.355 and 202.3653 to 202.369, inclusive, a person within this State shall not:
(a) Manufacture or cause to be manufactured, or import into the State, or keep, offer or expose for sale, or give, lend or possess any knife which is made an integral part of a belt buckle or any instrument or weapon of the kind commonly known as a switchblade knife, blackjack, slungshot, billy, sand-club, sandbag or metal knuckles;
(b) Manufacture or cause to be manufactured, or import into the State, or keep, offer or expose for sale, or give, lend, possess or use a machine gun or a silencer, unless authorized by federal law;
(c) With the intent to inflict harm upon the person of another, possess or use a nunchaku or trefoil; or
(d) Carry concealed upon his or her person any:
(1) Explosive substance, other than ammunition or any components thereof;
(2) Dirk, dagger or machete;
(3) Pistol, revolver or other firearm, or other dangerous or deadly weapon; or
(4) Knife which is made an integral part of a belt buckle.
2. Except as otherwise provided in NRS 202.275 and 212.185, a person who violates any of the provisions of:
(a) Paragraph (a) or (c) or subparagraph (2) or (4) of paragraph (d) of subsection 1 is guilty:
(1) For the first offense, of a gross misdemeanor.
(2) For any subsequent offense, of a category D felony and shall be punished as provided in NRS 193.130.
(b) Paragraph (b) or subparagraph (1) or (3) of paragraph (d) of subsection 1 is guilty of a category C felony and shall be punished as provided in NRS 193.130.
“A category C felony is a felony for which a court shall sentence a convicted person to imprisonment in the state prison for a minimum term of not less than 1 year and a maximum term of not more than 5 years. In addition to any other penalty, the court may impose a fine of not more than $10,000, unless a greater fine is authorized or required by statute.
A really easy to use and effective CCW state map: http://www.usacarry.com/concealed_carry_permit_reciprocity_maps.html